Begg-Dickie Scholarship

This Scholarship is supported by the **William Catherine Begg and John Dickie** Memorial Scholarships and other legacies the church has received to support further study by those graduating from the Knox Centre for Ministry and Leadership.

Regulations

- 2. The Postgraduate Scholarship is intended to help develop the theological and teaching resources of the Presbyterian Church of Aotearoa New Zealand by providing a graduate of the Knox Centre for Ministry and Leadership with a financial contribution towards the cost of fees, travel and living expenses for an approved course of postgraduate study in New Zealand or overseas. The Scholarship is intended to enhance the diversity of PCANZ and its mission.
- 3. The Scholarship is for a three–year term.
- 4. The amount of the Scholarship awarded in a particular year is determined by the Senatus in consultation with the Church Property Trustees as administrators of the funds held in trust. The amount may vary according to the level of qualification being sought. The portion of the Scholarship required to be used for fees and travel is paid out as needed. The portion of the Scholarship left available as a contribution towards living expenses is paid out over the agreed period of study, subject to satisfactory progress.
- 5. Senatus encourages applications that will enhance diversity of PCANZ and its mission.
- 6. A recipient who does not complete a recognised qualification may be liable to refund all or part of the Scholarship received.
- 7. Annual reports and evidence of progress should be sent to the Principal at the end of each academic year.
- 8. Recipient of the Scholarship who, during the course of their studies, decide to upgrade their course from, say, Masters to Doctoral level, may apply for an extension of their award for a further one or two years maximum. The Senatus will determine whether or not to award an extension. The annual amount available for Scholarship extensions may be less than the

amount of the initial award.

- 9. Applicants for the Scholarship must have graduated with a Diploma in Ministry from the Knox Centre for Ministry and Leadership. There is no time limit from graduation in which to make an application.
- 10. The Scholarship will be awarded to the applicant who in the judgement of the Senatus will best be able to obtain benefit from postgraduate study and contribute to the life and ministry of the Presbyterian Church of Aotearoa New Zealand.
- 11. The Senatus may decide in any particular year not to award the Scholarship.
- 12. The Scholarship must be taken up within two years of the award being made, or it will lapse.
- 13. On completion of their studies the recipient of the Scholarship is normally expected to proceed to service within the Presbyterian Church of Aotearoa New Zealand. If they do not proceed to such service, Knox Centre for Ministry and Leadership reserves the right to require the refunding of all or part of the Scholarship received.
- 14. The Scholarship may be held concurrently with other grants or scholarships from other sources.
- 15. Recipients of the award are required to deposit in the Hewitson Library Knox College two copies of their thesis, research papers and other publications arising from their study while in receipt of the Scholarship.
- 16. Applications will be received by 30th April each year, and will normally be awarded following the June Senatus meeting.
- 17. Unsuccessful applicants may reapply in subsequent years. Previous recipients cannot re apply.
- 18. It is the responsibility of applicants to check their academic eligibility for a particular course of study before applying for the Scholarship.
- 19. Applicants should include within their letter of application the following information:
- A statement of their study goals and how they see this course of study benefiting themselves and the Church.

- Information regarding a likely place of study and supervisor.
- An estimate of costs
- A Curriculum Vitae.
- Relevant Academic Transcripts.
- The names of two confidential referees who are not present members of the Staff of the Knox Centre for Ministry and Leadership.